Council for a Parliament of the World's Religions
Donate: help make a world of difference
2009 Parliament


Tuesday 8 December

7.30 pm – 9.00 pm

‘Melbourne – River City – Place of Gathering’

A stunning celebration of the rich cultural and spiritual diversity of the great city of Melbourne through music, dance, the visual arts, storytelling and blessings.

Across the world, water and rivers have played a central role in the practices and beliefs of spiritual and religious communities. The Melbourne Parliament is taking place on the banks of the Yarra River, the traditional home of many Aboriginal people, and the new home of successive waves of migrants and refugees.

The Melbourne Plenary will take us on an inspirational spiritual journey to the Yarra as we explore the experiences and interaction of different communities through sight and sound, with a particular focus on the power of water.

Local performers, storytellers and speakers will include:

  • Yorta Yorta Elder Aunty Walda Blow
  • Aunty Joy Wandin Murphy
  • The Melbourne Singers of Gospel
  • Melbourne Muslim Hip-Hop group - The Brothahood
  • Dandenong Sudanese Choir
  • Bharata Kalanjali Dance School
  • Sergei Golovko
  • Ethiopian Orthodox Choir
  • Jewish community members Debbie Masel and Arnold Zable
  • Melbourne artist Anthony Breslin will paint an artwork on stage during the Plenary.

Free Access To Exhibition Hall And Melbourne Plenary

Thank You To Melbourne’s Religious And Spiritual Communities

To thank the Melbourne community for their generosity in hosting the 2009 Parliament of the World’s Religions, the Parliament is pleased to offer Melburnians free access to the Exhibition Hall and to the special Melbourne Plenary.


The world-class production of the evening plenaries is managed by Cultural Infusion, a national not-for-profit organisation utilising arts, culture and technology to promote harmony, diversity, inclusiveness and well-being in schools and communities.


Supported by:

Complete Program Schedule

Major Speakers

Register for the 2009 Parliament!