Faith Against Hate Award

For an exceptional contribution to countering hate within the global community

In the wake of the Sikh Temple of Wisconsin shooting on August 5th, 2012, Serve 2 Unite emerged in a spirit of defiance. The hate behind the murders was met with an ongoing practice of fearless, creative, compassion. Rooted in the principles of service to others, and relentless optimism in the face of adversity, Serve 2 Unite today engages young people of all backgrounds to value humanity and the aspiration of living a genuine, honest life as a peacemaker. 

Outstanding Journalist Award

Recognizing distinguished and outstanding contributions to justice and peace through journalism

Patrice O’Neill is a filmmaker, journalist and leader of Not In Our Town, a community-based movement of people working to stop hate together. She has produced the successful Not In Our Town national series on PBS and led a multi-platform approach that utilizes documentary film, social networking, outreach and organizing efforts to encourage dialogue and community action. The series began as a half-hour PBS special and turned into a dynamic movement that continues to thrive in communities across the U.S. and around the world.

Ahimsa Award

For an exceptional contribution that enhances and strengthens the interfaith community through non-violence, sponsored by Jain communities around the world

Charter for Compassion was created by Dr. Karen Armstrong and the Council of Conscience in 2009, and inherits a confluence of contributions made by TED. com, the Compassionate Action Network, the Fetzer Institute, and many others. Charter for Compassion International provides an umbrella for people to engage in collaborative partnerships worldwide. The Charter mission is to bring to life the principles articulated in the Charter for Compassion through concrete, practical action in a myriad of sectors. Accepted by the Rev. Dr. Joan Brown Campbell.

Golden Rule Award

For exceptional contributions promoting the “Golden Rule”

Dr. Paul Eppinger graduated from William Jewell College, Princeton Theological Seminary, and San Francisco Theological Seminary. He served as a missionary in Japan, and the pastor of four different American Baptist Churches. He was the Statewide Director of the “Victory Together” campaign in 1992 to establish an AZ Martin Luther King holiday. From 1993 – 2002, he was the Executive Director of the Arizona Ecumenical Council until he became the Executive Director of the Arizona Interfaith Movement in 2002.

Cultivation of Harmony Award

Recognizing organizations for their outstanding contribution to interfaith community

Dr. Maung Zarni is a Burmese scholar and activist in exile. He is a non-resident scholar with the Sluek Rith Institute in Cambodia, a world renowned genocide documentation center. He has held visiting research fellowships at Harvard University, Oxford University, London School of Economics, University of Malaya and Chulalongkorn University, He is widely recognized as an outspoken public intellectual on the issues of Rohingya genocide, democratization, anti-Muslim racism, human rights and minority rights

Paul Carus Award

For outstanding work in the international interreligious movement

Dr. Karen Armstrong is a British author and commentator, as well as a former Roman Catholic nun. A History of God: The 4,000-Year Quest of Judaism, Christianity and Islam was published in 1993, followed by a series of books exploring major religions, compassion and the history of sectarian violence. In 2008, Armstrong was awarded the Ted Prize to launch the Charter for Compassion, a global campaign to activate compassion at the center of our lives and social institutions through collaborative partnerships worldwide.